Country number 3 (Finland) and currency number 3 (Euro).

The change was almost instant not only because of the 1 hour time difference and the fact that the language now looked even more foreign than Norway and Sweden. But from a cycling point of view I now have cycle path’s surrounding me, going in all directions and they are all clearly sign posted. Perfectly suited to the flatness of Finland.

This week I got my first puncture and in typical Scandinavian style it was in the middle of a thunderstorm, the same day I completed my first century. 100 miles of graft.

On one of my many snack breaks outside of a supermarket, an old Finnish couple drew up alongside me in their car.

“Come my house, sleep” said the old lady

“Okay” I replied

I followed them a short distance to their home where they generously made me coffee and sandwiches and offered me the use of a shower and a bed. I spent a couple of hours in their company and apologised that I had to leave as it was still mid-afternoon and I had plenty of fuel left in the tank.

I spent the night in a town called Seinajoki and it was here that for the first time in weeks it went slightly dark. Nowhere near full darkness, but enough for me to need my head-torch on to read in the tent. 

So it was I found myself in Tampere after 36 day’s and 3000kms. Leg 1 complete and 10 day’s ahead of schedule. I treated myself to a pizza and more importantly a beer.